O’Brien wins Rivanna supervisor seat

Tony O’Brien (I) has won re-election tonight (Nov. 7) to the Rivanna District seat on the Fluvanna County Board of Supervisors over challenger Darrell Byers (R).

O’Brien won with 1,142 votes, or 59 percent, over Byers’ 782 votes, or 40.3 percent.

The vote tally has not yet been officially certified. Absentee ballots have not yet been counted.

“I want to thank all the voters who came out and supported me and showed that they have confidence in the direction that Fluvanna is taking,” said O’Brien. “I’m really excited about the promise that Fluvanna has in terms of economic development and continuing to build its core services. I think that’s a message that the voters heard loud and clear.

“I want to thank Darrell Byers for stepping up to run,” O’Brien continued. “I think it’s important the voters have a choice and that there’s a robust debate.”

O’Brien joined the Board in January 2014 after his election the preceding November and has been instrumental in bringing two water and sewer projects to Fluvanna. He ran his second campaign on the themes of “proven leadership” and “promises kept.” His new term will begin Jan. 1, 2018, and will last four years.

Byers campaigned on cutting taxes and supporting local services, such as law enforcement.

Chairman Mike Sheridan of the Columbia District and Supervisor Don Weaver of the Cunningham District have both also been re-elected to the Board. Both supervisors ran unopposed.